Need some help?

We've put together the answers to a few questions people have asked. Hopefully, you'll find the answer to your own question here. If not, please don't hesitate to send us an email here.

Q: How does it work?
A: Apple created Content Blockers providing users with the ability to block certain content in webpages in Safari. BATT makes use of this framework and tells Safari what should be blocked.

Q: Does BATT know which websites I visit?
A: Content blockers, like BATT, cannot see what sites you visit. However, if you use the "Report a problem" feature, you can send us a report telling us that the current site is broken by one of BATT's filters. See below for an explanation.

Q: How do I tell you a website is broken by BATT?
A: Simple. Go to the website in Safari, and tap the Action button in the tab bar. It looks like a box with an arrow pointing up out of it. Scroll along until you see the BATT icon. (If you can't see the icon, tap the "More" icon and enable BATT. You might want to move it further up so it's easily accessible.)

When you tap the BATT icon, you'll see a whitelist option, and a button to report a problem on the current website. The url is entered into the problem report (because we need it to see what's wrong), but if there is personally-identifiable information in there, you can edit it to remove it. Note that we do not ask you for any contact information. Problem reports are completely anonymous.

Q: What's a whitelist, and how do I whitelist a site?
A: If you find a website that you don't want BATT to work on, tap the Action button in Safari, make sure the switch is on, and tap "Done". This adds the site domain (for example, to the whitelist, and BATT will not act on any pages in that entire domain.

Q: Can I remove a site from the whitelist?
A: Yes, it's the same process as adding a site, you just turn the switch off, and tap "Done".

Q: How often are the blocklists updated?
A: As often as we find issues with them. We tend to batch updates so we release as few as possible. Each update is about 2MB per user, so we don't want to use up your bandwidth and our server bandwidth. You can also manually check for an update by tapping the "Update Now" button in the Settings tab. We restrict this to once a day, for the same reason.

If you have any questions at all, please get in touch!